Chocolate Coconut Macaroons

image

On the path to healthy living and clean eating, there’s been a few rough patches. It’s not always easy to retrain taste buds and old habits can be hard to break – especially during stressful and busy times. This recipe is my kind of ‘cheat’. It’s sweet and chocolatey, but also gluten free, vegan and super easy to make. Many thanks to my friend Ashley for sharing this amazingly delicious recipe with me.

3/4 cup honey
1/3 cup coconut oil
1 tsp vanilla
1/2 tsp salt
2 cups unsweetened, shredded coconut
1 1/2 cup oats
2/3 cup cocoa

In a large sauce pan, heat honey and coconut oil over low heat until just combined. Add vanilla and salt. I used coarse sea salt, table salt works too.

Turn off burner. Stir in oats and coconut. I used steel cut porridge oats with added flax seeds. Quick oats work too. Add cocoa and mix well with a wooden spoon.

Using a teaspoon, scoop onto a baking sheet. With your fingers, form into little balls. I needed to wash my hands several times through this process as it gets a bit sticky and messy. Refrigerate 30 minutes or until set.

Makes 36.
2 weight watchers points plus each

Leave a Reply

greenbeekitchen

Healthy, green, vegetarian recipes

my SWEET hole

A clean eating blog that's guaranteed to fill your sweet (and savoury) hole.

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Food is God.

Life is busy. Let make our food easy and interesting .

Toddler Messes and Pretty Dresses

Displaying All My Crafting Adventures

AshleighEverfree

RAAAW! But not like lion. Like chocolate. Raw like chocolate.

industrial home decor ideas

Healthy, green, vegetarian recipes

Marina's Kitchen

The true organic ingredient is Love!

Vegetarian In Vegas

A new life one bite at a time.

Meatless in Manchester

Spreading vegan love

Bunny Kitchen

Exploring the possibilities of cruelty free food

Vegan Gourmand

All About Good Food & Great Health

OrganiLocaFoodivore

A journey in healthy living through the eyes of a college student...

Tortore

Recettes favorites - Favorite recipes

arlington darling

little blog of my darling times in the nation's capital

The Hungry Giant

and yes, I know you're hungry too

Fig Jam and Lime Cordial

Living well in the urban village

Finger, Fork & Knife

I'm Kate and Finger, Fork and Knife is where I record the recipes that excite, nourish and inspire me. I focus on wholesome, high-nutrition, home-cooked food - recipes that satisfy and delight. Welcome!

